10th May – Horse racing and gambling

English: Thoroughbred racing at Churchill Down...

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I arose around midday and ended up going to the pub with my father soon after. This consisted of about four pints of Guinness, nine games of pool and a packet of salt and vinegar crisps. However he and his girlfriend are assiduous horse racing gamblers and every fifteen to twenty minutes we had to stop everything to see the latest results.

Now I do not mind this, yet this constant exposure to gambling and games of chance has removed any mystique from the game. Perhaps I am not the type who enjoys gambling naturally; but one usually wants to strike out away from their parents, and gambling would be too close to home as a regular activity for me. Not that I mind when a string of winners come in and an extra drink is sent my way.

A risk-averse,

Edmund Donnellan.

Leave a Reply

